News Details

  • Home -
  • News Details

Clinical India thrashes Sri Lanka by 10 wickets to lift Asia Cup title for eighth time

Mohammed Siraj bowled splendidly to trouble the Sri Lankan top-order batsmen and took 6 for 21.

On a bright and sunny afternoon that turned overcast just 10 minutes before the scheduled start, the Asia Cup final finally began, albeit 40 minutes late. The R. Premadasa Stadium was packed with eager fans, but they kept an eye on the sky, with a thunderstorm predicted to hit the Sri Lankan capital on September 17.

Fortunately, the dark clouds stayed away, but a different kind of storm, the Siraj-storm, struck Sri Lanka with incredible force, blowing away the home team. Thanks to Mohammed Siraj's sensational opening spell, India managed to dismiss Sri Lanka for just 50 runs in a mere 89 minutes.

India wasted no time in chasing down this meager total, taking only 37 balls to achieve victory, sealing their triumph in style and clinching the trophy.

After India's dominant performance, Sri Lanka's captain Dasun Shanaka congratulated Subhead Gill as India thrashed Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the Asia Cup 2023 final in Colombo on September 17, 2023.

Minutes before the toss, when captain Rohit Sharma inspected the pitch and noted its dryness, he signaled to the dressing room for the inclusion of three spinners. This decision led to Washington Sundar, replacing the injured Axar Patel, being included in the playing XI.

However, it was India's pacers who stole the show, rendering Washington virtually redundant in the game. The home crowd hardly had a reason to cheer for their team as India's fast bowlers dominated from the outset.

Mohammed Siraj's Outstanding Performance:

Siraj's five-wicket haul in just 16 deliveries ties the record for the joint quickest in ODIs, a feat previously achieved by Chaminda Vaas for Sri Lanka against Bangladesh in 2003.
He became the first Indian to take four wickets in a single over in ODIs.
Siraj is the second-fastest bowler to reach 50 ODI wickets, accomplishing the feat in 1002 balls, behind Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis (847 deliveries).
His remarkable figures of six for 21 are the fourth-best by an Indian bowler in ODIs, and rank 31st overall.
Jasprit Bumrah made an early breakthrough by dismissing Kusal Peera with a brilliant catch by K.L. Rahul. However, it was Mohammed Siraj who stole the spotlight in his second over.

Siraj's fourth over was pivotal, as he took four wickets in that over alone. He consistently delivered perfect outswingers and occasionally jagged the ball to leave the Sri Lankan batsmen bewildered.

Pathum Nissanka was caught by a diving Ravindra Jadeja at point, Sadeera Samarawickrama was adjudged lbw after being beaten on the inside edge, Charith Asalanka was caught by Ishan Kishan at covers, and Dhanajaya de Silva was caught behind off an outswinger, all falling prey to Siraj's masterclass.

Records That Tumbled:

Sri Lanka registered its lowest ODI score against India after losing its fifth wicket (12 for 5).
At 12 for 6, Sri Lanka recorded the lowest ODI score at the fall of the sixth wicket by an ICC full-member nation.
India took six wickets in the opening ten overs, a record for the team in the format.
Sri Lanka's total score of 50 is the lowest against India in ODIs and the lowest in any ODI final to date.
It was only the second time in the competition's history that all ten wickets in an ODI were taken by pacers; the first instance was in this edition when Pakistan's seamers achieved the feat against India.
Sri Lanka became the full-member Asian side to be dismissed in the fewest overs of an ODI (15.2).
India's win by ten wickets is the second time they achieved this in an ODI final, the first being against Zimbabwe in Sharjah in 1998.
This victory also marked India's biggest ODI win in terms of balls to spare (263), and it was the shortest ODI involving India, with only 129 deliveries bowled.
Rohit Sharma decided to let Ishan Kishan and in-form Shubman Gill finish the formalities in the middle. The duo remained vigilant, with Kishan securing victory with a single on the first ball of the seventh over, just 27 minutes into the innings.

Sri Lanka Innings:

Pathum Nissanka c Ravindra Jadeja b Siraj 2
Kusal Perera c Rahul b Bumrah 0
Kusal Mendis b Siraj 17
Sadeera Samarawickrama lbw b Siraj 0
Charith Asalanka c Ishan Kishan b Siraj 0
Dhananjaya de Silva c Rahul b Siraj 4
Dasun Shanaka b Siraj 0
Dunith Wellalage c Rahul b Hardik Pandya 8
Dushan Hemantha not out 13
Pramod Madushan c Kohli b Hardik Pandya 1
Matheesha Pathirana c Ishan Kishan b Hardik Pandya 0
Extras: (LB-2, W-3) 5
Total: (10 wkts, 15.2 Overs) 50

Fall of Wickets: 1-1, 2-8, 3-8, 4-8, 5-12, 6-12, 7-33, 8-40, 9-50, 10-50.

Indian Bowling:

Jasprit Bumrah 5-1-23-1
Mohammed Siraj 7-1-21-6
Hardik Pandya 2.2-0-3-3
Kuldeep Yadav 1-0-1-0.
India Innings:

Ishan Kishan not out 23
Shubman Gill not out 27
Extras: (LB-1) 1
Total: (0 wkts, 6.1 Overs) 51

Sri Lanka Bowling:

Pramod Madushan 2-0-21-0
Matheesha Pathirana 2-0-21-0
Dunith Wellalage 2-0-7-0
Charith Asalanka 0.1-0-1-0.

Photo Credit: AFP